My Doctor Tortured Me

The only place I dread waiting at more than going to the DMV to renew my license has to be the doctor’s office. It’ never bad when I have an apportionment to go see my regular physician. I am talking about when I wake up with a sore throat or fever and I need to go to the urgent care unexpectedly. I don’t have enough time to fit into my real doctor’s schedule and I’m not sick enough to go the hospital, so I am awarded the inhuman torture of waiting to be given a diagnosis that I could have figured out by myself.

I woke up with Β a sinus infection that has been bothering me the past couple days. I wasn’t feeling any better, so I decided to get up extra early in order to be the first person taken care of at my local clinic. As I began driving over there, it felt like the clouds were gathering to foreshadow my terrible decision. I just needed to get a prescription for some medicine, not finish my journey of saving middle earth by throwing a ring into a volcano.

How it looked as I finally arrived to the doctors office.(credit: Wikipedia)

How it looked as I finally arrived to the doctors office.(credit: Wikipedia)

I cringed as I opened the door to the urgent care, but was glad to see no one was there. This would be the quickest visit I ever had at a doctor’s office. After filling out some paperwork with the secretary that looks like she is one second away from jumping out of the office window, I looked around to take a seat in the waiting room. I settle back slowly into the worn-out chair in the corner, but keep my hands and arms to myself. The only thing that runs through my head is sick children coughing on the arm rests and sneezing in the magazines. On top of feeling isolated in my designated clean zone, my phone has no service the one time I want to use it to keep me entertained.

It only took about an hour until my name was called from the waiting room. I am pretty sure that people just appeared from thin air and were brought in before me as I woke up from my daze. It felt like I just won the lottery when I heard my name, but the only thing I was awarded was more time being wasted. I got brought into a small room in the corner of the hallway where the nurse spoke a mile a minute checking my blood pressure. After waiting an hour, the nurse slammed the door and vanished faster than she appeared. Was this a doctor’s office or some weird form of speed dating?

I felt more sick and even crazy as the clock ticked slowly. (credit: Wikipedia)

I felt more sick and even crazy as the clock ticked slowly. (credit: Wikipedia)

The clock ticked and ticked and ticked. It seemed like an eternity as I waited in there. I used to think the physician was in his office watching through a camera to see how long he could make us sit there for. I broke and starting touched every instrument to see if I could just diagnose myself. After almost breaking everything, I soon realized the doctor was in the hallway just talking to her co-workers. While I’m in the room dying from a fever and cooking like a barbecue, she is gossiping. I wish I could just barge out of the room and put her in her place, but I knew I was powerless at this point.

I spent a good three hours of my day at the doctor’s office. After all my patient waiting, I didn’t win a vacation to the Bahamas or new car from Bob Barker. I was given a prescription for antibiotics; even though, the doctor said taking over the counter medication could have just done the trick. The best part about the whole visit is when I tell the doctor how I feel, and the physician looks at me crazy telling me I’m wrong. I’m sorry, but maybe I feel worse from waiting in each phase of this game until I reached the last level of finally being seen by you. As I sit in my bed with a burning fever and sore throat, I still feel just as horrible as when I woke up. I hope that everyone has a better experience in the medical field than I have. Even if you eat an apple everyday for your whole life, you are bound to go to find yourself in the doctor’s office one of these days.

This entry was posted in Medicine, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

77 Responses to My Doctor Tortured Me

  1. allyconway says:

    Aww feel better. Your description of waiting for the doctor felt like I was telling the story. Crazy how long they make you wait, huh? I’d you need some chicken soup- I’ll send some UPS. πŸ™‚

    • Thanks, I’m sipping on some soup right now but I can always use some extra for later πŸ™‚ I thought if I wake up early enough that I’d be in and out of there, but I think you wait just as long no matter what time you go.

  2. Right there with you, home sick again today. Hope you feel better soon!

  3. Chatty Owl says:

    Haha. Sorry to hear about your “lovely” experience today. Stock up on apples and paracetamol and get better!

  4. Awwwww. Yep! I have so sick I couldn’t bring myself to the doctor. Told my husband once, if I were going it would be under protest. Who wants to sit in a waiting room with a bunch of other sick people when you are sick? lol. I understand! Feel better.

    • Thank you πŸ™‚ Every bone in my body was telling me not to go, but I knew I had to. I’m just happy I’m out of the waiting room and back in my house. Thanks for reading and commenting.

  5. Mocha says:

    Ahhh man…feel better brother…

  6. xdanigirl says:

    Just the word “doctor’s office” fills me with dread…. I spent 4 hours at my youngest son’s first check up. 3 hours and 45 minutes of it I was just waiting on the doctor. The nurse gave him his shots. When the doctor did finally come in, the Tylenol had worn off and I could barely understand her over the screaming and through her accent. She then proceeded to treat me like an incompetent child, and told me what I was doing was wrong, and the doctor who told me it was okay was wrong as well. Another time, a different doctor looked in my youngest son’s ears, looks at me and says “I don’t THINK he has an ear infection, but I couldn’t see in one ear. So if he gets a fever or it gets worse, come back in.” Needless to say, I am not a happy momma when I go there… I had never in my life seen such incompetence in a person of the medical profession… It was horrible… I feel your pain!! Well, not all of it. But feel better!

    • That sounds like a horrible doctor’s visit. I could barely make it on my own, let alone have to take care of a child I care bout while the physician gives me an attitude. I hope your son appreciates how patient you were πŸ™‚ Thanks, I’m starting to feel a little bit better already.

      • xdanigirl says:

        Ha. He will when he gets old enough for me to tell him all about it!! And I’m glad you are feeling better!! Being sick is horrible! One of the ladies in my office has had something similar to what you have since Friday.

  7. D.L. Kamstra says:

    I know I have had my shares of visits to the urgent care centers. Your description matches all of my experiences (well the ones that I have to the urgent care for being sick) The worst in my opinion was having to go for a knee injury during what was cold and flu season. Thought for sure I would leave and develop a cold or come down with the flu within days. Nothing like feeling like you are going to be worse off than where you started…

    • That is exactly how I felt today. I went in there hoping for the best and I ended up feeling worse than when I woke up. I wish it was less wait and more going in and right out of the urgent care. Thanks for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  8. I wish, you will feel better very soon. Warm soup and the with honey are always good, when we are sick.

  9. TomBoy says:

    I do like the picture of Mordor, however

    • I’m glad you enjoyed the picture and post πŸ™‚ It still cracks me up that the image of Mordor was what I felt like when I headed to the doctor’s office today.

  10. Aary says:

    I hope you feel better, sending good vibes your way! I know I shouldn’t dis the medical field considering it’s what I’m going into, but doctors offices need to get their shit together!

  11. Hope you feel better. Maybe a trip to Mount Doom with an enchanted ring would have worked better than the doctor’s visit. If anything, I don’t think orcs have any resistance to sinus infections.

  12. caslee2000 says:

    Okay, I have some CRAZY advice for you. I am highly susceptible to sinus infections, and (at this point post-cancer) highly resistant to any extra doctor’s visits. I treat my sinus infections with over the counter medications (Nyquil and Dayquil work for me), and Apple Cider Vinegar. If you gargle with it, it numbs the sore throat. If you drink about one tablespoon of it three times per day it helps you kick the infection. I know it sounds disgusting, but with a sinus infection I find I can barely taste the stuff anyway. If you really can’t stand it, mix up some honey with it and it will soothe the sore throat even more. I hope you feel better!

  13. goddesslyv says:

    I’m Β§ick too, and stupidly compounded it by walkin 9k this morning hoping excerise would help. Nope!

    Aa for experiences with doctors: I had one experience that spanned 4 months; 3 diagnoses and ended with my 7 month old daughter, blue and unresponsive before anyone actually did something of substance. So, less than stellar. I avoid doctors like the plague now.
    Hope you feel better soon!

    • I am sorry to hear about your daughter, that sounds like a nightmare. I try to just make sure I am feeling well and take care of myself. It is a real nightmare going to the doctors sometimes. Thanks for stopping by and commenting πŸ™‚

  14. I’m so sorry you’re sick. Nothing like a very LOOOONG wait in a germy waiting room with uncomfortable chairs when you’re feeling so crummy anyway. Take good care of yourself. I hope you feel better soon.

  15. joefish77 says:

    Your story brought me back to the “Minute Clinic” I used to frequent at least twice a year. The Place was about as accurately named for being fast as Greenland is for being green. I’ve been living in Mexico for most of the last two years and when I’m sick just go into the pharmacy and get what I need. Probably not the safest, but at least there is no more mental torture. Hope you feel better fast

    • I wish it was that simple in America, but the doctors have so much power with that prescription pad. You have to just wait and wait until you can get the medicine to feel better. Thanks for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  16. zen city says:

    omg . . . i can soooo relate!
    πŸ˜‰

    • I’m happy someone can relate to my posts. The whole reason I love to write is to connect with others. Thanks for commenting and I hope you come back to refill your Cup of Joe.

  17. foolsquest says:

    A few years ago, a friend of mine went to the doctors and they kept him waiting for over two hours in the examination room. When the doctor arrived at last, my friend commented how he was running out of patience. The doctor, not missing a beat, looked at him and said, “I have lots of patients. That’s what took me so long.”

    • That is probably one of the best lines I heard a doctor use, too bad he probably says it ten other times a day to different patients. It’s horrible because no matter what you have to wait in order to get better. Thanks for reading and I really enjoyed reading your friend’s story πŸ™‚

  18. I can imagine…. Really worsen the “just bad” condition. It’s just unfortunate at times, [of all the time] to experience such kind of place & people when you need the best most. Hate the long wait tooπŸ˜„! Anyway, get well soon!

    • Thanks, I am slowly starting to feel better πŸ™‚ I think just resting in my bed actually helped more than rushing to the do cot’s office and waiting. Hope you come back to refill your Cup of Joe soon.

  19. The doctors office I go to is super great about getting me in and out fast! It could also have something do with the fact that I have used it since I was little! But I have had to wait at other before and it’s not fun at all!!

    • Whenever I go to my regular doctor, it really is in and out. I barely wait at all and he is really nice. I just hate when I wake up with a cold or sore throat and he is booked for the day. It means I am going to be waiting at the urgent care for a good two to three hours plus. I hate it but it’s just the way it is. Thanks for commenting and reading πŸ™‚

  20. Hope you feel better quick.

  21. Ugh I feel your pain, I just got over what I affectionately call “The Crud” aka “sinus infection” and our urgent care is the same exact way! I hate, no I loathe going there! I am glad I am not the only one convinced they sit there trying to see how long they can make us wait as well as almost breaking all the instruments! I hope you feel better soon, put some vics on your chest and shut yourself up in a room with a vaporizer! Get well soon! ~Irish~

    • Thanks for the well wishes and advice. I have been drinking soup constantly and taking my antibiotics. Slowly starting to regain my strength back πŸ™‚ I always think there is a camera hidden somewhere in the office but I have had no luck finding it. Thanks for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  22. luv89food says:

    I can totally relate! I have surprisingly been able to keep the sinus infections away for about a year! (home remedies do work!) and yes vicks should help tons as well as steam from wherever and whatever! Not sure if you ever did the saline solution rinse, but that helps too! Anywho I hope you have a speedy recovery, now that you have meds!

    • I am starting to get back my strength. Thanks for the well wishes πŸ™‚ I am trying everything so I can get out of this bed as quickly as possibly. Thanks for reading and hope you come back to refill your Cup of Joe.

  23. Rob Sullivan says:

    I had to go for a blood test and had one of these days. except I woke up mad early and there was still this little old granny there before me. like was she camping there all night or something?

    • I have seen some people that actually will show up before the sun comes out because they will have to wait no matter what. It is crazy that a simple blood test could take so long. The ridiculous part that having your blood drawn only takes thirty seconds too. Thanks for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  24. Jes2G says:

    This was hilarious. I hope you’re feeling better.

    • Thanks πŸ™‚ I’m glad you enjoyed and I am slowly starting to get back my strength. Hopefully, I’ll be good as new by tomorrow.

      • Jes2G says:

        Good to hear! I HATE waiting in doctor’s offices. One time I HAD an appointment, got there 20 minutes early, there was NO ONE in the waiting room, and I STILL waited 40 minutes lol. Gotta love it, eh?

  25. liamsmomma says:

    Hope you feel better and by the by, I have had that same experience every single time I have went in. Most of the time if I get sick, or my son gets sick, it always seems to fall on a weekend. A weekend that drags by, so you have no other choice to go and I spend hours every time, it’s so annoying, but at least you didn’t have to wait more than 3 hours, I see people sitting there all day, it’s crazy.

    • It’s terrible and makes being sick even worse. It’s bad enough feeling like we are baking under the sun, but then on top of it we have to wait in a crammed room with a bunch of other sick people. Thanks for the well wishes and commenting πŸ™‚

      • liamsmomma says:

        your very welcome, I agree. I don’t know how many times my son has gone in on a weekend suffering from severe croup where he actually gets sick every 5 minutes, waiting for 4 hours and they tell us oh it’s nothing, he’ll be fine on monday. Come to find out, in the long run 4 years later, he was suffering from what they call Vascular Ring Syndrome, where his aorta is wrapped around his trachea. So ER doctors can be a little wide on the diagnosis they give, but they don’t always get it wrong, well I should say it’s per case I guess. It’s worse when kids have to wait so long, especially being so sick.

      • I could never imagine having to deal with a child that I care about being sick. I feel like I would be a nervous wreck until they were better. I hope everything with your son is good now and he won’t have to deal with long waits in the doctors’ office anytime soon.

  26. redserpent42 says:

    i can really imagine the scenery of this journal. you are a good story teller, bro. πŸ™‚

  27. I hope you get better and soon! Take care of yourself and those sinuses.

  28. frostedtides says:

    Hey, thanks for stopping by on my blog. Wish u to get better. Great stuff u have here. Cheers.

  29. Feel better soon! I used to enjoy going to our family Doctor when I was little (maybe it’s because my mom always took care of everything). Now that I have to go by myself, it’s not as pleasant. 😦

    • When I went with my mom, it always felt like it was in and out of the office. Now that I’m older, it feels like torture. Maybe it’s cause I’m too old to play with the toys in the waiting room πŸ™‚

  30. Health Departments are my evil nemesis. I never leave there without being upset or just outright sobbing. -_- Doctors just don’t seem to care about their patients anymore.

    • I don’t know what is it, but some places are nightmares to go to when you are sick or in need of help. There are still some good doctor’s offices, but others can be just horrible. Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚

  31. 1footinfit says:

    The modern medical system is based more on keeping the pharmaceutical corporations happy than keeping people in good health. Insurance has their hands in the cookie jar too, as any major surgery has to be cleared by them first.
    As for doctors, it’s a sick and antiquated way of performing medicine.If you feel this way Joe, you would love a book called “Never Be Sick Again”. The author rips into modern medicine in a very thoughtful and efficient way. I had it passed to me by a close friend last year and still reference it in my own blog from time to time.
    Good stuff again my friend!

    • I’m glad you enjoyed the read so much πŸ™‚ I love reading new books and I’m happy you recommended it. This will now be added to my personal summer reading list.

  32. cosyclark says:

    I hope your feeling better soon. I have to admit that my experience with Doctors is a little on the negative side too. The afct they give you a perscription but then say somthing over the counter wuld have done the trick does make you wonder why on Earth did do you bother. Still the weekend is on its way, try and relax. πŸ™‚

    • Thank you for your kind words and well wishes. I am feeling great now and ready to enjoy this weekend. I hope there won’t be any more doctor’s visits in the near future for me πŸ™‚

  33. LOL! I know exactly how you feel. I have 4 kids on top of it all to farther torture me when I’m sick. I would gladly rather take the quest to Mount Doom to throw myself in.

  34. You made me laugh! There is NOTHING urgent about an urgent care clinic. Been there and been sick as a dog going in. I hate the wait in there. Seems when the doctor comes they can see you are sick but have the nerve to ask you what seems to be the problem,right? Really hope you are feeling better! Thanks for story! It was awesome!

    • I’m glad you enjoyed it so much πŸ™‚ At the time it was miserable, but looking back at it now it’s pretty funny. I am feeling much better and I hope there’s no more doctor’s visits for me in the future.

Leave a Reply

