Alone at the Movies

Before I graduated high school, I had an awesome teacher that I really looked up to. He was this young guy that was really laid back with a few tattoos covering his arm. I always looked forward going to his class because he not only taught us the subject but also lessons we would run into in life. On the last day of class, he said something that really hit home. He told us we are now going into the real world, and somedays are going to hit us harder than we have ever been knocked down. If we can’t snap out the funk, jus remember we can always get lost in a good movie instead of doing something stupid.

Instead of pigging out on some Ben and Jerry’s ice cream or going to a bar, I decided I would finally go see The Hangover Part III. As the lights dimmed and the preview started rolling, I realized I was the only person in the whole theatre. At first I thought it was pretty cool, how many people can say they had a private viewing for a movie. Then, a million scenarios ran through my head and I decided it was a little more scary than I planned.

As I enjoyed the end of a great franchise, I looked around and the fear of a crazy axe murder chasing me through the aisles changed into a deeper feeling. All of these seats were organized around me, but they were all empty. No one’s phone as vibrating, someone wasn’t coughing, and no crunching noise from a guy obnoxiously eating popcorn. The only thing that was telling me I was conscious and not dreaming was the light from the big screen.

In this big world filled with billions of people, we won’t even be able to connect with one percent of them in our lifetime.  And most of the people we will meet, we most likely will forget about later on in our life. One of the reasons why I enjoy writing so much is because I get to connect with people from all over that I wouldn’t be able to. One question popped into my mind as I finished the film. Even if this theatre was packed, are we all alone in this world with a single light of life only connecting us?

This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Alone at the Movies

  1. This is an excellent piece of observation.

  2. pnwrunner says:

    I dont think many people could say that they were the only one in a movie theater! It is like a private showing just for you.

  3. Interesting view. We are born alone and leave alone. We are responsable for ourselves, all the way. Thanks for sharing.

  4. That’s pretty deep.

  5. I was the only person on the Back to the Future ride at Universal Studios in LA. It was fantastic

  6. allyconway says:

    Loved this. Moments like that, where you get to reflect, are really amazing. BTW I’d be the one crunching popcorn…. 🙂

  7. Oh wow, great observation, but my heavens I would be creeped out! 😉

  8. LindaGHill says:

    I’ve contemplated the same thing over and over, and the conclusion I keep coming to is, yes. We are. Scary, isn’t it? But only if you think about it.

  9. Hey I nominated you for The Very Inspiring Blogger Award! Good luck!

  10. 1footinfit says:

    Joe, the stuff you discuss is always so thought-provoking. You have a gift for noting the small things in life better than nearly anyone on here. Well done!

  11. Lesley Buse says:

    Interesting the movie choice combined with those thoughts.

  12. luv89food says:

    I like how all of your posts catch me by surprise! I always start reading the title and am like ohh I know where this is headed but then by the end, I’m like no not even close! Definitely something to think about!

Leave a Reply

