My House Got a Facelift

Nothing means summer is here more than block parties and barbecues (credit: Flickr)

Nothing means summer is here more than block parties and barbecues (credit: Flickr)

With summer pretty much here, it’s that time of year when everyone calls in their landscapers to mow the lawn and spruce everything up around the house. One neighbor had the whole street blocked off with every contractor, roofer, and chimney sweep in the area working on their property. I guess they really want their home to stand out with all the block parties and barbecues coming in the next few months. As I was getting in my car before I started the day, I stood outside and really looked at my house. This is the same place I have been living in for the past eighteen years, and it felt like I this was the first time I ever saw it before.

It was strange to think that I spent so much time inside my house, that I never really gave it a good look on the outside. I am either running out the door in a rush to make it to work or dragging my exhausted body up the stairs to pass out for the day. I’m going in and out so much, I never just take a second to see what everything looks like. As the sun was beating down on my body and beads of sweat started forming on my forehead, I realized this wasn’t just my home, but a reflection of who I am as a person.

The past eighteen years have been one roller coaster ride. I had some of my happiest moments and some of my scariest moments in my small room. I’ve had girlfriends over and I’ve had some friends that I no longer talk to step through my front door. I lost my first tooth that the tooth fairy still owes me money for and I went through puberty all in one place. I experienced all these things in this house, but I didn’t realize what had happened until I looked at myself from the outside.

The beginning of this year was a really rough point in my life. Not enrolled in school and broke, I was at a very low point. I was just going through the motions of the day, but I wasn’t really doing anything. It wasn’t until I went on Facebook that I noticed how lost I really was. We all grow up and build foundations for what we want our lives to be like. Everyone is pretty much equal and continues building support through junior high and high school until they are independent enough to expand on what they want. As I was still sitting on my foundation, I saw all my friends who built these wonderful structures of life with memories and accomplishments. It really made me take a step back, but I’m glad it knocked me down so hard.

As I was laying on my back speechless, it was the exact thing I needed. Being at rock bottom, I got a good view of my where I was at. This point on my journey was exactly like staring at my house. I saw things the for the first time that I never realized before. I had a lot of things to work on, but I still had a sturdy foundation to build on. The paint may be chipping and a few shingles may be hanging by an edge, but I could make a house I could be proud of. The only way I could make this happen is if I put in the hard work and dedication.

Once we look from the outside, we can see a lot of things we need we can work on in our life. (credit: Flickr)

Once we look from the outside, we can see a lot of things we need we can work on in our life. (credit: Flickr)

I may not be ready for summer barbecues and pool parties, but I am making the right steps in order to be where I want in my life. Our life is like a house, we sometimes get so lost on living inside it that we don’t take care of the things we don’t see on a regular basis. Β  Everyone should take a second and just look at themselves from an outside perspective, I guarantee you will see something new you have never noticed before.

This entry was posted in House, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

55 Responses to My House Got a Facelift

  1. ferrindear says:

    Again, really well said. Perfect post πŸ™‚ A true eye opener.

  2. Everyone starts somewhere with the first step. The important thing is just taking the step…and then the next…and the next. Before you know it, life happens.

    • I agree. We shouldn’t be afraid to take that first step, we should embrace it. It may be scary and new, but we will be happy once we get to where we want to be. Thanks for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  3. Excellent post, love how you compared life to our homes because it is so very accurate, we get so busy living, we forget to stop and look.

  4. Heather says:

    your words speak of an understand of like as a whole…well said!

  5. Mocha says:

    Great post buddy…first step is the hardest…

  6. Sounds healthy for you. Enjoy.

  7. We Three Locals says:

    This is great! I like that you got a good look at your life while looking at your home. I hope that you’re living toward your own happiness and things you love. It’s a bumpy road, but you’ll never regret taking those first motions toward who you know you can be. Keep your head up!

  8. Great advice. I’ve been in that knocked down state where everyone I grew up with has achieved part of their goals and I’m nowhere. It sucks, but it can be a powerful driving force.

    • That is what is driving me right now. I don’t want to look back at my life and feel like I wasted it. I want to put in all my effort and try to make my dreams happen. Even if I don’t end up where I want, I will be in a better place and be happy for how hard I worked πŸ™‚ I’m happy someone could relate to the feeling.

      • All we can say in the end is that we tried. That’s how I look at it. If I try and fail, at least I gave it a shot. It brings more credence to when I have to give my son the ‘you can do anything as long as you try’.

  9. thecatrehomed says:

    It might seem a small thing, but doesn’t the sun make a huge difference! the seasons pass, and I’m sure that even if you get knocked down, bit by bit, the sun will always come back out for you as well. Thanks for the culpa! πŸ™‚

    • No matter how dark of a place we think we are in, we can always find the light in our situation. I’ve been dealt some tough blows, but I try to stay positive wherever I am at in life. Thanks for reading and commenting.

  10. A year ago, I felt frightened because society told me I was behind on my “journey to success.” But we’re young and given time, we find ourselves. There is a sense of comfort when you can move forward and be at ease with what you’re doing with your life.

    • As long as we are happy with what we are doing, then we are heading in the right direction of our life. We all have different journeys, and should never compare ourselves to others. We just need to be the best “me” we can be. Thanks for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  11. merrildsmith says:

    I really enjoyed this post–and loved the comparison of a house to life.

  12. A positive attitude will get you far in life. Life will knock you down but it will also be full of opportunities for new beginnings. Good luck and success with the new direction your taking with your life.

    • I am keeping a positive attitude and just moving forward with my life. I am taking all the ups with all the downs as I keep going. Thanks for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  13. Sherry Smyth says:

    Brilliant perspective…food for thought indeed!

    • I always love looking at things from a different perspective. You never know what new thing you’ll find that you never saw before. Thanks for reading and I’m glad you enjoyed your Cup of Joe πŸ™‚

  14. I am SO glad you found my blog, introducing me to yours. This was such an inspiring post to read, and I must tell you, Joe. You are an amazing writer. I was amazed by how raw and true every sentence here was, and even though I don’t follow writers in this blog of mine, I will follow you here as well, just so I make sure to not miss any future post of yours. An amazing read! It definitively leaves you thinking…

    • Thank you for reading and your kind words. I really appreciate it a lot. I just try to be honest and write how I feel. I’m so glad you will be coming back to refill your Cup of Joe soon πŸ™‚

  15. korean-eyes says:

    Love this post! I lived in Thailand from 2010 to 2012 and the sights began to become the norm and it wasn’t until visitors came that I reminded myself to see things fresh! I like the analogy! Cheers.

  16. Reblogged this on Spread A Little Smile and commented:
    Just so many thoughts about this post that i can’t put it into words it’s just so true!

  17. Kristy says:

    This is a great post! I just came across your blog and I am glad I did! I love the “house” perspective! I have had a rough week of sorts, and this gave me a little food for thought! Thanks for sharing!

    • You’re welcome and I hope I could help out a little. Everyone is going to hit some rough points in their life, but we can always bounce back and keep pushing forward. I’m glad you enjoyed and thanks for commenting πŸ™‚

  18. good2begone says:

    Replying from my phone is a chore….reading your blog is not. I am enjoying my stay. Excellent writing. Thanks again for the invite. I will follow to keep up!

  19. I’m glad you’re headed in the right direction! Wonderfully written!

  20. Chatty Owl says:

    A very good cuppa joe *thumbs up*

  21. Linda Vernon says:

    This is the first essay I’ve read on your blog. I think it’s wonderful. I once read that everything that your are surrounded by in your life is an extension of yourself. And how you physically take care of those “extensions of yourself” is a huge indicates how much you esteem yourself. I really liked that thought, and your essay says the same thing. Very well, done. It’s thought-provoking, well written and something I can take away with me.

    • I’m really glad you enjoyed it so much. I think we sometimes need to look at everything around us once in awhile and really see how everything is playing out. We sometimes get so caught up in life that we forget to notice all the small things. Thanks for reading and commuting πŸ™‚

  22. Our life as a house… excellent metaphorical approach. Begs the question of what rooms are in our “house” and whether they have doors that lock or not. One could do soo much with this metaphor. Thanks for the inspiration…now, I’ll be sidetracked…hmmm, what’s in that room off to the left????

    • I’m glad you enjoyed it so much and I love how in depth you are going with the metaphor. I never thought of looking at it like this. Thanks for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

  23. Kyle Knapp says:

    Very cool site- thanks for the invite!

  24. melissajanda says:

    Many tend to post only the most attractive pieces of their lives on Facebook, making them seem successful, when in fact, they are not. It’s often smoke and mirrors and failing to acknowledge this makes for a very shaky foundation because it’s what we learn from those struggles that make us stronger. The fact that you do acknowledge this sets you apart. When you’re at rock bottom the only direction you can go is up. Think of JK Rowling. She said, β€œrock bottom became a solid foundation on which I rebuilt my life.” Best of luck to you. Great post.

  25. jannatwrites says:

    Great analogy! It is so easy to get in a rut (personally and with our houses.) Reflection is the only way to know that’s where we’re at…we can’t fix what we don’t see πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

