Holiday Hangover: Memorial Day

For the past two months, all I have been reading on Twitter and Facebook are the countdowns to Memorial Day Weekend. Typically abbreviated to MDW, this extended weekend is one of the most anticipated holidays on the east coast. It marks the end of the spring semester and cold weather, while kicking off the summer season on a high note. Even though millions of people are rushing to the beaches for a weekend of wild drinking and barbecues, it is sad to think most of them don’t even know why we celebrate Memorial Day.

The sight many people will be seeing this Memorial Day Weekend (credit: Wikipedia)

The sight many people will be seeing this Memorial Day Weekend (credit: Wikipedia)

If it wasn’t for the troops that sacrificed their lives to protect our freedom, we wouldn’tΒ even be able to be a part of all the festivities we take for granted. Before I continue writing, I want to take the time out to thank any man or woman who has given their life serving our country. It is an honor to know there are so many brave people out there in this world. Unfortunately, most of the answers for why we celebrate this day from the people shoving their faces with food and becoming blackout drunk would probably be disappointing.

I feel like most holidays have really lost their meaning since I grew up. It is great that we get to share time with our loved ones and relax on special occasions from our busy lives, but we should also be thankful and remember why we are given this privilege. It could be a holiday to remember our soldiers or a religious holiday, but it turned from something meaningful into a day for only receiving presents and not having to work.

Remembering our fallen heroes that served our country. (credit: Wikipedia)

Remembering our fallen heroes that served our country. (credit: Wikipedia)

I hope that this Memorial Day, we remember all our fallen heroes that risked their lives in the line of duty. If you see a veteran or person in uniform, you should take a few seconds our of your time to thank them. The smallest gesture could really brighten up their day. But remember this, these soldiers are still fighting for our freedom even on holidays and special occasions. Just like these real life warriors, we should remember our goals and purpose. This is a holiday and gives us the opportunity to have some relaxation to ourselves, but that doesn’t mean our dreams have a day off. I took took time out of my day to pay my respects, but I am still going to work hard and go after my goals. Our fallen should always be honored every day, but I think they would be even more proud of us if we take advantage of the freedom they died fighting for and used it to better ourselves. Happy Memorial Day and I hope everyone has a great weekend.

How will you be spending your Memorial Day?

This entry was posted in Holiday, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Holiday Hangover: Memorial Day

  1. Wish you a good Memorial Day. In Europe we don’t have a day like this.

    • Thank you πŸ™‚ We may not celebrate the same holiday, but we can still all thank the people who sacrificed their lives for serving our country. Have a great weekend and hope you come back to refill your Cup of Joe.

  2. Great post. Today I’m thinking about my grandpa who served in the marines, my cousin who just graduated from VMI and all of the other troops who make sacrifices to protect our country. Enjoy your day!

    • If you can, tell your relatives that it is honor to know they are protecting our country. I think it is great to know there are people that are brave enough to risk their lives in order to give us our freedom. Have a great Memorial Day and thanks for stopping by πŸ™‚

  3. aarondbell says:

    The cup has been filled twice today.

    Lol I just commented on the post just before this… just to find another awesome experience! Was this published as I commented, or did I read too quickly? Hmmm.

    Anyway, this anecdote may relate this. I went into work today for a bit, where I saw this man with a black coat with spectacular blue embroidery that said “Air Force” on it. As one of my managers there showed me how to punch in my numbers, I accidentally interrupted her to say, “My dad worked in the Air Force. Thanks you for being a part of that.” (“Awww thanks man.”)

    As this guy was drinking alone, though, I really doubt that anyone really realized that he’s part of the reason that everyone’s celebrating. But then again, he might’ve just preferred to drink alone, because I’m kinda like that (with coffee, I don’t drink alcohol).

    Thanks again, Joe.

    • No problem, and I just published it before I got to your comment. I think it’s great we get to celebrate this holiday, but it’s even better to remember why we get to and thank the people who risked their lives for our freedom. It might seem like a small gesture, but I am sure that person you thank really appreciates your kind words. Thanks for stopping by and I hope you have a great Memorial Day πŸ™‚

  4. Great post. I think a lot of holidays have been taken over by the idea of sales and going out to party. I’m just relaxing while my parents watch the toddler as he helps them garden. We’re going to BBQ, but it’s really just a low-key day. A holiday like Memorial Day is a tough one to ‘celebrate’ because it feels like it should be somber. Yet, it never turns out that way.

    • I agree. I feel like we should remember our fallen and pay our respects, but they would want us to enjoy our freedom and make the most out of it. I just hope people would still remember why we celebrate these holidays. Thanks for stopping by and I hope you have a good Memorial Day πŸ™‚

      • Good point. I see a lot of people merging this day with Veteran’s Day. Also, one person that thought this was a holiday dedicated to the Presidential Monuments in D.C. Hope you’re having a good Memorial Day too.

  5. We don’t have Memorial Day in England but the armed forces are very much in our thoughts at the moment due to a terrible atrocity carried out by murderous thugs. Lovely post.

    • I heard about that and my thoughts go out to everyone affected by the tragedy. Times like those are when we should realize all the sacrifices that being made by our soldiers. No matter what color they are wearing or what country they are from, they should all be honored. Thank you for stopping by and glad you enjoyed your Cup of Joe πŸ™‚

  6. bfabulous15 says:

    Thanks so much for this post. Both my brother and boyfriend are military, and it makes me sad how little most of our society values this day of remembrance. Great post πŸ™‚

    • If you can, tell your brother and boyfriend I really appreciate what they are doing for our country. I wish more people would remember how selfless our soldier are to sacrifice so much for our freedom. Thanks for reading and I hope you have a great Memorial Day πŸ™‚

  7. Nice post. We all have different things to think about on this day. Mostly for me it is gratitude for the freedom that good men and women gave us through their sacrifice. As Tom Hanks said in Saving Private Ryan, “earn it.”

    • Great movie and I might have to watch it today πŸ™‚ I also am very thankful to our men and women in the armed forces. Thanks for reading and commenting. Have a great Memorial Day.

  8. 080898 says:

    great reminder of why we celebrate. stop and think. thank you for this today.
    PS – I love your blogger name πŸ™‚

  9. 080898 says:

    πŸ™‚ I will

  10. thexenophilediaries says:

    Yes! And I think this holiday should be extended to our police officers and fire fighters.

    • There are a lot of people who sacrifice so much and put their lives on the line for our freedom and safety. They should be thanked all the time, not just on one day out of the year. Thanks for reading and commenting. Hope you have a great Memorial Day πŸ™‚

      • thexenophilediaries says:

        I did. It’s just like Valentine’s Day. My mom is a police officer. I hope you had a good Memorial Day as well.

  11. Just a point as a veteran. I appreciate the support for America’s vets, and we do have Veterans Day in November for those of us lucky enough to have made it back home. But Memorial Day really is set aside to honor those who gave their lives for the rest of us. All [who served] gave some, some gave all, including too many of my friends and comrades. Today is for them. And yes, you’re right, the guys I knew who lost their lives in the fight would have wanted us to enjoy our remaining chance at life and freedom. So remember them honorably, and appreciate the life you have!

    • It is great to hear from a veteran and I appreciate all you have done for our country. I am sorry to hear about your friends and fellow soldiers that lost their lives in order to protect our country. They will all be remember and honored today. Besides paying respects, they fought for us to have our freedom. I think the best way to pay respects to them is to live our life to fullest. Thanks for stopping by and I hope you have a great Memorial Day πŸ™‚

  12. KG Visions says:

    Awesome tribute!

  13. denisebensonphotography says:

    Very well put. Unfortunately this has become all too true. Thank you for this reminder!! Happy Memorial Day to you!

  14. Thanks for stopping by my DriftlessWorld blog, great post here. Being from the “Jersey Shore” i know whatcha mean about the focus being too much now on the long weekend party , not the reason behind it. When we were kids growing up at the shore in 1960’s, everyone’s dad or grandad was a vet and the party and the remembrance were one and the same. Flags flying, veterans marching in a traffic jamming parade, big VFW cookout and afterwards us kids being shooed away from the men in a circle talking so quietly among themselves. Keep writing!

    • I love hearing about the past and seeing how things used to be. Great to see a holiday from a different perspective. I’m glad you enjoyed your Cup of Joe and I hope you had a great Memorial Day πŸ™‚

  15. Great post! I have to agree, I think most of our holidays have lost their meaning. It restores my faith in people to read posts such as yours.

  16. xdanigirl says:

    This was great. My dad was in the National Guard and even though he didn’t serve in any wars, I’m still ridiculously proud of him. I always get a little teary eyed and get a little big headed whenever I hear (see) people thanking anyone who has served. My church always does a small presentation thanking any one who is serving or has served. It’s nice to know that at least some people still know what Memorial Day is all about!!

  17. desabrat says:

    Great post. Although I’m Canadian I love and respect what our “Big Brother” does to serve and protect your homeland and ours. My running friends in the US donated their miles they ran that weekend to the fallen. It was very inspirational to see on the social media platforms.

    • That is so amazing to hear what your friends did. And I’m happy even someone not from America still appreciates what the armed forces does. Thanks for stopping by and commenting πŸ™‚

  18. I agree with what you mentioned in your post, that holidays have lost their meaning. I think as traditions become more warped of meaning, we decide what we will partake in and how to best suit our needs. I know for me I have not celebrated the typical national holidays for some years, while on the other hand, there are times of the year I do put my heart into, such as the first day of spring, the first day I can pick ripe cherry tomatoes from the garden, and when the leaves begin to change and fall. The more people we fit into our world, the more we will need to adjust what “traditional” things mean to us, and perhaps how we can best follow what suits our beliefs. If you believe that memorial should be about troops, then support your belief. Visit a memorial and partake in thankfulness. I find that to be the most beautiful way to remember, to do it from our heart.
    Thanks for the good read.

    • I think we should all remember the meanings of holidays in our own way. I think it is important to pay tribute to the people that sacrifice their lives in order to give us our freedom. Besides holidays for our soldiers, I feel like many other holidays are becoming less traditional. You are on point with these special occasions becoming more unique and customized to the individual. I feel that everyone has the right to celebrate it in their own way, but the meaning should always be remembered. I’m glad you enjoyed your Cup of Joe and I’m happy you shared such a thought-provokign comment πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

