Are We There Yet?

I give a lot of credit to parents that have to deal with a car full of whining children on a tiring car ride. They are not only obligated to entertain, constantly feed, and even pull over to the nearest Β rest stop a handful of times for their needy passengers; but they are bombard every half an hour with the famous phrase “Are we there yet?”. While the kids and probably fed up adults are ready to hit that red button and jump to warp speed, the journey shouldn’t be about just reaching the finishing line.

One of my favorite things to do is to drive. It could be a five minute trip to 7-11 or a twelve hour ride across the country, I am more than excited to get in my car and start going. This love for being on the road started when I was little. My parents would drive me all over the state to go to wrestling practices and tournaments. I loved seeing new towns and all the cool scenery on the way there. It might have been more enjoyable than actually wrestling.

You never know what you will see on your road of life (credit: Wikipedia)

You never know what you will see on your road of life (credit: Wikipedia)

My secret hobby soon turned into full blown relationship when I got my license. While my friends were afraid to even merge onto the highway, I was driving all over to see every part of the state. I loved seeing how one area was very urban with huge buildings and people all over the streets to a place thirty minutes away that was all open space with a few pastures and farms. I wasn’t concerned about where I was going to end up, I just wanted to experience as much as I could as I drove along.

This love for scenic driving hasn’t diminished at all since I was legally allowed to get behind the wheel . While most people hate riding from place to place, I jump up at the opportunity to hit the open road. This mindset is exactly how I feel about life.

We all have goals we want to achieve and places we want to see, but that isn’t what the main focus of our journey is about. It should be taking in every moment along the way. We are bound to hit a few bumps and approach some detours, but we should Β come away with a valuable lesson from that experience. When we find ourselves at a dead end or come to an intersection in the middle of nowhere, it will be a hard choice but something we will always remember. I think Rascal Flatts summed it up perfectly. Life is an open highway that has no set route. While we may have no direction of where we are heading and even get off at a few exits that spark our interest, just remember you will always end up where you need to be.

This entry was posted in Journey, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

49 Responses to Are We There Yet?

  1. There should be a seat in the car where you can cannot see or hear children.
    Oh wait, it’s called the boot.

    • My friends have told me many stories where there parents just stacked their suitcases in between the seats so they wouldn’t hear them whining. Most adults are lucky nowadays with car televisions and other ways to distract kids. Back in the day and even now, I can just be taken away by seeing all the beautiful scenery on long drives. Thanks for stopping by and commenting πŸ™‚

  2. You so hit the nail on the head with that question, are we there yet? I’ve never minded though. The art of distraction is a tool and I have certainly used it. πŸ™‚

  3. driverrob says:

    With the online pseudonym of “driverrob”, it goes without saying that I love driving, too. It’s just a shame that petrol costs about twice as much here in the UK and long, empty roads are hard to find. Now, scenery, that’s different. I don’t think you can beat English country scenery.
    We made few concessions to our young son when travelling; he watched the scenery or fell asleep. When he was older he could play “I-spy” or just listen to our taste in music on tape.
    Life’s journey can be very different. You can’t just leave the driving to someone else and, since it could be cut short without notice, you really must make the most of every step of the way.

    • I agree with you 100 percent. Life can be cut way too short and this is why we need to take in every moment. And this is our road of life, we should never let anyone get in our driver’s seat. I hope to one day travel across the pond, rent a nice car, and just get lost in all the scenery of the UK. It will take some time and saving, but I hope to able to do that. Thanks for sharing and I hope you come back for another Cup of Joe πŸ™‚

  4. goddesslyv says:

    My grandfather had a saying:
    You know we are there when I stop the car, jump out and starting jumping up and down yelling we’re here, we’re here! A 6’2″, 250 lb pro wrestler jumping up and down was a sight to see, so the question never really was asked again.
    If possible, I plan long road trips just before bedtime. Then we can eat on the road, and the kids will generally fall asleep for the rest of the way.

    I love this post, and it is something that, as a mom going through school, I need to be reminded of constantly. I am so focused on graduating I forget to enjoy the journey. Thank you for writing it so eloquently!

    • I’m glad you enjoyed your Cup of Joe πŸ™‚ I’m at a point of my life where I don’t really know where I am going and I want to make the most of everything. It is overwhelming at times, but I just keep telling myself to enjoy the moment and keep on moving. Eventually, we will all end up where we need to be.

  5. Hey Joe.
    I have never been a lover of long trip. To be honest, I am the kind of kids that ask the famous question. Still, I learned to love it during the past year. Having a long distance Relationship helped a lot. Now, 4 hours is a little ride for me. Still, I do not know if I could do a 12 hours. But, you seems passionate by the route. I thinkyou should talk about hte place you’ve been. That tells a lot about someone. Well, I’ve said enough this times, I’ll let the other talk ! Read you soon I hope. Enjoy Life!

    • Even if we don’t like long trips, we should always enjoy wherever we are going and everything on the journey. I haven’t been really far in my life. I’ve only driven about twelve hours west from my house. I hope to one day travel more and see all the world has to offer. Glad to hear you enjoyed and hope you come back to refill your Cup of Joe πŸ™‚

  6. Touch2Touch says:

    Hey, I really like a car that can shimmy!

    • Never been on Route 66 yet. Hopefully after I save a little money and have some free time, I can travel cross country and see all the beauty of our nation. Thanks for stopping by and hope you come back for another Cup of Joe πŸ™‚

  7. My brother and I used to make up country music on long trips. I am still amazed that my parents did not put us out on the side of the road and leave us.

    • My parents never were really big into sing alongs, it was a pretty silent ride most of the time. At least you had company to enjoy your trips on the open road πŸ™‚

  8. cherylfoston says:

    Great post! Very entertaining! πŸ™‚ I have always enjoyed long car rides as a kid and still do.

    • Great to hear from another person that enjoys the open road. I think I like the sense of being free on the highway and all the beautiful scenery. It never gets old whatever age you are πŸ™‚

  9. Shelly Tennyson Taylor says:

    Love the underlying focus of the story! But I also have a 3 year old who never ever shuts up! Lol! So I can totally relate to that part too!

    • I’m glad you enjoyed all the parts of the post πŸ™‚ We need to always enjoy the journey we are on, but I could imagine it is hard with a three year old trying to get your attention. Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

  10. grannyK says:

    I have a confession to make. Kids aren’t the only annoying people on car rides. On a trip, it’s often me that is needing a lot of pit stops, wanting munchies and asking if we are there yet. But then, one could argue that I am going through my second childhood, so….maybe it is mostly kids that do that! Great post!

  11. luv89food says:

    I used to be the kid that needed to go for a car ride so I could sleep lol…and every time we end up going on long trips now(not with parents) I sleep at least half the way….it’s in my blood! but I get up right in time to enjoy the rest of the ride or for my turn to start driving πŸ™‚

    • We all can find our own ways to enjoy long car rides πŸ™‚ I’m sure your parents we’re glad you slept instead of whining the whole drive. Thanks for reading and commenting.

  12. Jillian says:

    I don’t care for driving, but I don’t mind riding a bit! πŸ™‚ I love to travel and like to make each trip an adventure and stop along the way to my destination. My family just wants to hurry up and get there. lol

  13. Patinspire says:

    Memories of Sunday afternoons site seeing trips with the kids in the back of the car are etched in my heart forever. I loved those trips. My family enjoyed site seeing and exploring new things. So much fun. Lovely post!

  14. Saunved says:

    Very true! What matters is the journey…and you will end up where you have to end up! Loved it! πŸ˜€

  15. hideawayhill says:

    I love riding but never on the highways. I am lucky to live in an area with little traffic and lots of dirt roads so that it isn’t a fortune in gas. My dream is to drive from the east coast to the west all on back roads. Unfortunately I would need a few months for that. I get teased that the way I like to travel I wouldn’t make it to the next state. πŸ™‚

    • It’s great to hear you like to take in all the scenery and enjoy the ride πŸ™‚ I think it would take forever to go all backroads across country, but I hope to drive across out nation one day and see everything. Thanks for reading and commenting.

  16. Its exactly the reason why I love road trips and day trips. For one, its a little escape but it also puts you in a nice zone of just being one with our surroundings. Its a bit like taking a hike just when driving the focus needed is a lot more πŸ™‚ Its refreshing and fun. Plus, there usually is always something new to absorb from the environment around us! Great post!

    • That’s why I love driving around so much because there is usually something new to take in. I love seeing all the different roads and where they will take me πŸ™‚

  17. BambiLeigh says:

    I feel exactly the same – I was so happy when I passed my driving test! I just wish I could afford the petrol I need to take me everywhere!

    • That’s the only downside of loving to drive, gas is so expensive. I still remember getting my driver’s license and having the most excited, awkward smile plastered on the card πŸ™‚ Thanks for reading and commenting.

  18. thexenophilediaries says:

    Driving is a good metaphor for life. I liked this post. Awesome.

  19. KG Visions says:

    Life is a highway, love that song! BTW, are we there yet?

    • I think we are always on our journey in life. Even when we hit dead ends or take some pits stops, the road is always open. Great song and I’m going to have to play it today now πŸ™‚ Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

  20. Miriam says:

    Beautiful post! I love road trips, always have. My parents drove us (5 kids plus dogs) back and forth from Maine to Florida every year, so I guess it got into my blood early. I don’t care about buying things, but I could spend all my money just traveling around the country πŸ™‚
    And I agree with what you say about the journey itself being the important thing.

    • That sounds like so much fun. I would love to drive from Maine to Florida and see all the wonderful sights. I hope to one day save up enough and go cross country. It is one of my biggest goals πŸ™‚ Thanks for reading and I’m glad you enjoyed your Cup of Joe.

  21. Clair W. says:

    I love roadtrips! They’ve become a little more difficult now that we have a toddler and two big dogs however. I love driving and took my first solo roadtrip at 16, there hours away to Charlottetown, Prince Edward Island to visit a friend. Ah, the freedom! Haha

    • That is awesome. We don’t even get our license until we are 17 here. I hope to do more road tripping and seeing all the beauty on the open road. Thanks for reading and commenting πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

