Unfairness is a Blessing

I’ll admit, I have been attacked by the green-eyed monster called envy. Who hasn’t been jealous of another person or even a friend? I believe it is the one feeling that a Β toddler and a full-grown adult can share.

One of the first things I was jealous of my friends having.  (credit: Wikipedia)

One of the first things I was jealous of my friends having. (credit: Wikipedia)

I remember when I was little and being so mad when my friends got the new Mario game for Nintendo 64. I was stuck playing Chutes and Ladders and Monopoly because I didn’tΒ deserve a gaming console. Sitting in my room as an eight year old, I didn’t understand why my friends had so much and I didn’t. That is when I learned the meaning of unfair.

Why was life so unfair? Why did my friends have nice clothing, a big house, video games, and even awesome snacks like Lunchables and Dunkaroos. I couldn’t even get the crust cut off of my sandwiches, let alone have a treat like that packed in my brown bag. This became a bad habit as I got older. What starts off with video games then escalates into much more serious needs and wants.

In high school, my list of jealousy grew by the day. My friends were getting brand new BMWs and Mercedes, and I was stuck begging my parents ever night to drive their car. As I matured, so did my envy from tangible things to desires. I saw my friends talking to a handful of girls at a time while I couldn’t even get one to answer me. They had clear skin while I was battling acne. Pretty much every aspect of life was unfair. Unfortunately, I was looking at it all wrong back then.

One of the best snacks in the 90's. (credit: Tumblr)

One of the best snacks in the 90’s. (credit: Tumblr)

Instead of cursing my life for being unfair, I should have been thankful for it. All the things I struggled with eventually faded into my past and made me a better person. I didn’t get a Nintendo 64 until the fad was over and people had a Playstation or Xbox. But when I did get it, I cherished every game and loved playing it. I never got Dunkaroos or Lunchables, but I also never was obese as a child. I might have hated my mom at lunch, but she taught me how to eat healthy. I had a face full of zits, but it made me learn how to be more friendly with people and really find my personality. My skin finally cleared up and I am now more confident talking to people. Most importantly, I never had a hundred girls texting me in high school. I learned those things don’t matter in the long run. I learned to be thankful for the people around me and truly care about them. Now, I am in a loving relationship and wouldn’t trade it for the world.

So next time you are feeling envious or angry at your situation, think of it as a blessing. Being at a disadvantage will make you a better person in the long run. No one ever made a movie about a person that never struggled and got everything they wanted by just asking. The people that are remembered are the ones who never had it easy and battled through all their difficulties. I’m pretty sure they would haven’t changed one thing and neither would I with my life. While every journey is filled with different obstacles, the most important thing is to be thankful for what we are give. Always remember you may be jealous of what another person has but there is probably someone out their who is envious of something about you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to Unfairness is a Blessing

  1. Love the post! It’s good to keep things in perspective

    • Sometimes, we all have blown things out of proportion. The best thing to do is take a step back and realize life really isn’t that unfair. We all have our own obstacles. Thanks for stopping by and commenting.

  2. CuriousEmily says:

    I was just thinking about this the other day, and how as we get older the things that used to really bother us fade to insignificance. I call it the Law of Diminishing Shits Given. πŸ™‚

    • I love the name you gave the law. It’s makes it seem like it should be written in a science or psychology text book. Funny to think that all the problems I had in high school are things that don’t even matter more. Too bad my younger self didn’t realize that until now. Thanks for you comment and I hope you come back again for another Cup of Joe.

      • CuriousEmily says:

        Absolutely, it’s like when you’re sixteen you do your GCSEs (in the UK) and you stress out about them, then when you’re eighteen you do your A Levels and you realise your GCSEs are worth nothing. By the time you get to degree level you know your high school qualifications alone will get you nowhere, and once you’re a Grown-Up with a career you realise how easy you had it at university. Hindsight is a wonderful thing!

      • I don’t know about the UK, but I can definitely relate to that in the states. You need to get a good score on your SATs or colleges might not accept it. For months people take courses and hire tutors for only three hours of your life. After it’s all said and then, you graduate college and it doesn’t matter what sore you get on your SATs. Funny, how when you mature your problems mature as well. Just need to remember that no problem is too big to conquer.

    • Oh my goodness – The Law of Diminishing Shits Given – brilliant!

      I might be having envy that I didn’t come up with that one. πŸ˜‰

      • She should coin that phrase because it is pretty awesome. Hopefully, more people will realize this law soon than later. Thanks for stopping by and reading πŸ™‚

  3. Christie says:

    Love, love, love this post!! Thank you for liking one of my posts so that I was fortunate enough to come across your blog! Look forward to reading more πŸ™‚

  4. Awesome post! What’s really ironic is that life was probably unfair to those people they just don’t know it. It may have seemed unfair to us, but we learned the important parts of growing up. I got a Super Nintendo when I was 13, but I’m thankful that I was so used to playing outside that I barely played it until I was 16 or so. I had my first computer when I was 17, and I’m grateful that my mom worked her butt off to get me that for my birthday. I grew up in a single parent household and I never had the best of the material world, but I have one hell of imagination and now (not much back then), I’m proud to say that we were far from wealthy. It strengthened me and it sounds like it did for you too πŸ™‚

    • It’s so true. We grow up not knowing much and only takes things as how we see them. We may not have everything the kid next door has, but we have so much we should be thankful. You are lucky to have such a wonderful mother and I hope she knows how much you appreciate her. I wouldn’t be where I am now if it wasn’t for my mom and all she has sacrificed for me. In the end, I am thankful for all my hardships and how it made me a better person. Thanks for the great and uplifting comment πŸ™‚

  5. Great Post!!
    I remember reading somewhere… “The grass is greener on the other side because they’ve got more manure!” lol I think about that when I start feeling envious of other people’s lives. πŸ˜‰

    • That’s a great line. I never thought about it that way. I’ll just be happy with my lawn and try to make it as green as possible. Thanks for reading and hope you come back for another Cup of Joe πŸ™‚

  6. bgbowers says:

    Great post. I remember reading something years ago about those words: Jealousy and Envy. Jealousy has negative connotations because it means that we not only want what someone else has got, but we harbor negative feelings about that person. Whereas envy is about wanting what someone else has got, and using envy as fuel to strive for that reward instead of just wanting it.

    It is true that there is always someone worse off than us. Always be grateful and look for the lesson in every experience and situation. Thank you πŸ™‚

    • Your welcome and thank you for the comment. I usually just put the two words together with the same meaning. We take things for granted sometimes when we should be happy with all that we were given. I’m glad you enjoyed reading.

  7. Alisa says:

    What a fantastic post! Heartfelt, honest and utterly inspiring. Thank you for commenting over at my blog – it gave me the opportunity to read this over at yours. : )
    All the best, Alisa

  8. Fabulous post! Getting past entitlement to enjoy what real life is- that is an accomplishment in this day and age! ~

    • Exactly. In the big scheme of thing, materialistic things are the least significant part of our lives. So there shouldn’t even a reason to put such an emphasis on it. Thanks for reading and commenting.

  9. Shirley U. Jeste says:

    I just love your attitude. And your posts!

  10. Ashleigh says:

    I really love this post. I’m currently a teenager, and I remember when I was little, I lived on a military base. My friends had a nicer house than me. They had better clothes, games, school supplies etc.
    Now, my friends still have nicer clothes, more money than my family, etc. but I learned over time that being jealous didn’t get me anywhere. Instead, I started being thankful of what I did have.

    • That’s great to hear. I could never imagine being part of a military family and everything that comes with it. I’m sure it made you a better person from it. We should all be happy with what we are given. Thanks for stopping by and hope you come back for another Cup of Joe πŸ™‚

  11. Excellent post. I know when we’re younger it hurts to not have the newest toys, but there’s always a plus side to things. As you said, it teaches a person to appreciate what they have. For the video game consoles, it gave me a reason to visit and get away from my own house. Meant less cleaning for my parents and my snack supplies lasted longer with less company. πŸ˜‰

  12. Lauren Mead says:

    Great message! I like to think that all the best stuff is the hardest to get πŸ™‚

    • The best things are always the hardest ones to achieve. However, the view is great after all the dedication and effort is put into it. Thanks for stopping by and having a Cup of Joe πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

