Refresh Button For Life

Hang in there LOLcat!

Hang In There Poster (Photo credit: crowbert)

Monday! The worst day out of the week. If you’re not prepared, it will sucker punch you in the gut and take your lunch money just for the fun of it. Not even a “Hang In There” poster with a cute, furry cat could change the miserable mood looming in the beginning of the week. You will become a prisoner of your cubicle or classroom being tortured by the slow ticks of the secondhand on the clock. After waiting an eternity, you’ll look up at the time to realize you’re not even halfway through the day. Once again, Monday has won the battle; but maybe it doesn’t have to win the war.

 

Today was not a good morning to wake up to. I was planning on sleeping in an extra hour, but that reward was over before it started. It wasn’t even six o’clock when it seemed like a Β rock n’ roll concert was happening outside my door. First, the newspaper guy was blasting his radio as he drove his beat up car up and down our street. I think the dying muffler really fit well with the music. This was followed by ten delivery trucks zooming by with their noisy engines and screeching brake pads. There isn’t even any stores near my house, what are they doing around here? And the headlining performance had to be the landscapers coming at seven thirty to mow my neighbors lawn. I was already awake before I could even dream about sleeping in.

Even though I wasn’t happy about this early morning surprise, it wasn’t too bad. I was able to take care of a few things and be productive. But my lack of sleep really drained me, and I could feel it in every part of my body. I wanted to keep moving on with my day, but I knew I wouldn’t last. So this is when I decided to take a nap.

 

Most people are going to read this and think “Well, that is just being lazy. You should have forced yourself to stay up”. But what would have that accomplished. I would have been in a horrible mood, and I wouldn’t be able to put my best effort into what I was doing. After I woke up with more energy, the Monday blues faded into obscurity and I finished everything I had to do for the day. This made me realize that everybody should hit the refresh button once in awhile.

 

Now, I’m not saying at work you should just decide to fall asleep when you’re in the middle of doing something. But with everything going on in our lives, we need to be able to relax and refocus our energy. I once read that our minds are the fastest and most precious computers we will ever use. So if that’s true, we should take time out to refresh them just like we do when we are surfing the internet.

 

Stress Reduction Kit Installation

Not a good way to refresh brain at work! (Photo credit: programwitch)

So next time you are feeling stressed, take a few minutes and do something to clear your mind. Maybe you could go for a walk outside of where you are working. A good five minutes of stretching your legs out and breathing in fresh air will get the blood pumping and energy flowing through your body. Maybe, you could read a new book during your lunch break and this will take away from the monotony of studying notes or filing papers. Either way, there are so many ways to break up the boredom of Mondays and get you rolling into your week. Just like a computer, your mind needs to be refreshed once in awhile to keep it running smoothly.

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Refresh Button For Life

  1. Naps…I need one of those..haha! Very true everything you said up there. We all need a breather to just refresh and destress πŸ™‚ That “Hang in there” poster may not work for you..but cuteness overload pictures always work for me πŸ˜‰

  2. pnwrunner says:

    I agree that it is important to get out of the office during the same to get some fresh air or whatever. It makes coming back to the office easier (not when it is sunny though)! Mondays can be a drag!

    • It could be fresh air or a nice read, it’s great to feel refreshed and get through a Monday. But you can’t help the weather, if it’s nice out I’m sure everyone would want to be outside than sitting in an office πŸ™‚

  3. goddesslyv says:

    I am a student and have just begun walking 7k a day (and biking 5-8k) I can’t seem to function without a bit of a powernap sometime throughout the day. πŸ™‚ cute kitty pic btw

  4. Good advice. I walk a lot to try to relieve stress. It beats “bang head here.” πŸ™‚

  5. Hahaha, that is SOOOOO true, it’s so important to take 5, it also makes you a lot more productive when you get back to work!! x

    • Exactly πŸ™‚ It’s so much better to refresh your mind with a walk or quick read. It helps me refocus my energy and roll into the week. Thanks for the comment and stopping by.

  6. i know exactly how u felt for taking a nap! lol i did that on sunday, except no nap, but did get almost 5 hours of Glee and donuts 😦

    • I love GLee. I haven’t been following since they all graduated, but I need to catch up. I think nothing can top the first three seasons. Sounds like a good and refreshing Sunday to me πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

