Positivity Outweighs Negativity

Throughout life, we interact with so many people that it’s hard to not get caught up in all the drama and stresses each person has. I found myself this morning only fixated on all negatives of my “friends” and acquaintances that it actually gave me stomach pains, and it wasn’t the good kind from eating too much food either. It was that hair-splitting, aching feeling that Sigourney Weaver must have felt when she gave birth to that alien. She made the pain look managable, Β but I wanted this feeling to stop.

It’s scary to realize how much our thinking could control our bodies and mind. If I woke up on a sunny beach with a Pina Colada in my hand, I’d have a smile going from ear to ear. My body would be relaxed and I would be at ease. However, I didn’t get a good’s night sleep and woke up to a raining, dreary morning. Maybe I just got up on the wrong side of the bed, but my brain was in the gutter.

No sunny beach or Pina Colada in my near future, Β I was frustrated to begin with. I guess I let it get to me as I started just ranting to my mom about all the stresses these people cause. Being the great mother she was on Mother’s Day (promised I wouldn’t blog about her), she listened to all my complaints. And as I stood on my soapbox, I thought, “Why do I care so much?”

All of the people I am focusing so much of my attention on have the most insignificant impact on my life. I barely see them, let alone actually take time out of my day to think about them regularly. And now I am wasting my time and all of my energy by giving them the power to control my day. I took a deep breath, stopped ranting, stepped off my soapbox, and just let it go. Even a second after I closed my mouth, it felt like a vampire just let go of Β its grip on my neck and my body was refilled with life and energy.

I came to a conclusion. It isn’t worth spending your time dwelling on the negatives of people, especially when they play such a small role in your world and you can’t change them. Use this energy instead to be productive and positive, and it will do you more better and last a lot longer than putting it in the trash of negativity.

Justice's Scales

I’ll end this on a cool mantra I hope will change how people think. Negative thoughts are usually the heaviest things that weigh on a person’s mind. They are so heavy that they just bring us down. However, one positive thought can outweigh ten negative one. This is why positive thinking is uplifting because it helps us up and get moving for the day. Just remember, positivity is greater than negativity.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Positivity Outweighs Negativity

  1. Victoria says:

    Positively…a nice post! Good thoughts to share. πŸ™‚

  2. Noor Gharbo says:

    this is so true, your thoughts really do change your mood. We really shouldn’t spend our time thinking about petty things that have no influence on our lives and yet we spend so much time doing so. sometimes people need the reminder though, to re-evaluate their thoughts and get back on track.

    • Exactly. It is better to put our energy into positive thoughts and things we can control, instead of negative things that have little impact on our life. Thank you for your kind words and reading, I really appreciate it.

  3. good u should discover this sooner than later. now for that cuppa joe

  4. goddesslyv says:

    A reminder that I needed today πŸ™‚ well said

  5. Hey, thanks for checking out my blog πŸ™‚ I really like your post! It’s something that hits home with all of us at some point in time, and you’re totally right, sometimes we need to just take a step back and reevaluate where we are putting all of our energy. Thanks for sharing πŸ˜€

    • You’re welcome. I’m happy you liked it so much. If we all start thinking positively, the potential for how we use our energy is limitless. Thanks for your stopping by and your positive comments, I really appreciate it πŸ™‚

  6. After spending so much of my life on the negative, I am glad to have found a way to be positive. It is the best way.

    • I’m glad to hear that πŸ™‚ We are so used to thinking this way that it just becomes imbedded in our brains as normal. Positivity will shine a lot more happiness in everyone’s lives, not only our own.

  7. Words to live by, right here.

    I don’t know why, as a fellow human being, others can be so needlessly and senselessly cruel to one another, but it’s there. It happens, more often than it should. And as anyone will say, it IS hard to push that negativity out of your life, but it’s also so much better for us in the end.

    I’m glad I found this post because, as it happens, I’ve been stuck in this loop over the past few days. β™₯

    • I’m happy you enjoyed this post so much. I always just let myself think negatively and harp on the bad things. It’s a terrible habit but once we break free, it will allow us to be more positive and help others as well. I really appreciate you stopping by and hope you come back for another Cup of Joe πŸ™‚

  8. tasha246 says:

    You have a real talent for writing you know, i was just reading your blog and not once did i get bored or distracted and thats somthing! πŸ˜‰ keep it up i would like to hear more of your wisdom, thanks for commenting on my post πŸ™‚

    • You’re welcome and thank you for taking the time out of your busy day, reading my thoughts, and being so kind. I love to write, I find it relaxing and a great way to express myself. But most of all, I would love if just one post that I write could help someone out and make a difference. I seriously appreciate all the love and hope you come by again for another Regular Cup of Joe πŸ™‚

  9. mike says:

    “..Negative thoughts are usually the heaviest things that weigh on a person’s mind….. one positive thought can outweigh ten negative one” …a great meditation,man.

  10. Robyn G says:

    This is a great post Joe and so very true.
    Each of us has to ‘let go’ at some point and I think it’s harder when we do care.
    Keep smiling and being positive and thanks for sharing your thoughts..
    ..and for visiting my blog.. I’m glad you did πŸ™‚

  11. Nikki says:

    Great post! You’re spot on target about the impact of negative thoughts – I find that even a tiny seed of negativity, once planted, can soon take root and grow into a mighty tree which overshadows all my small hopes.
    After reading your wonderful words I shall definitely weed the garden of my mind much more frequently! Thank you.

    • I’m happy that my post touched you so deeply and made a difference. It might be hard at first pulling all those weeds out, but the garden of your mind will feel so much better because of positivity. Thank you for so stopping by so much and appreciate all the kind words.

  12. tasha246 says:

    wonderful work and thankyou so much for following my blog i really appreciate it! Keep it up and i will come back for a regular cup of joe πŸ˜‰

  13. Negativity is not a inherited trait but a learned one from the environment you live in and the people around you. It had taken me a while, like decades, until I finally discovered that part of my missing key to happiness was allowing negative people into my life and to influence my life. Unfortunately, my mom is the queen of negativity. However, I learned to put up boundaries and stand firmly in the sand. I no longer let my mom or anyone else cross that invisible line in the sand in order to taint me with negative messages that only lead to one thing and that is self-destructive behavior!
    I’m now learning how to be happy for once in my life, and it feels great! : ) Great post too! I tweeted it out. : )

    • Thank you so much for commenting and sharing my piece πŸ™‚ I’m glad to hear that you finally found positivity in your life and it has helped you become happier. If we cut out negative thinking, it not only impacts us but has a beneficial outcome on others. Keep up the positive outlook on life and you will see the huge difference it continues to have.

Leave a Reply

