Hiking Isn’t Just for Nature Lovers

Yesterday, I tried something I have never done before in my life. I went on a hike. Β And it wasn’t just a solid dirt path through the woods, it was a rocky slope up a ridge that overlooks all of the town. So this was going to be quite a first time for someone that doesn’t enjoy the outdoors as much.

As I looked ahead of me, I saw the huge path towering up to the sky. It seemed like it just didn’t stop. I knew this would require a little bit of exercise, but I didn’t sign up to be Jack climbing the bean stalk. Before I took that first step, a little voice screamed in my head to run back to my house, lock myself in my dark room, and just play Xbox. While I won’t be giving up my gaming controller anytime soon, another part of me was excited and pushed me to take that giant stride to start.

What I thought was going to be a form of torture with running tired out to be the most relaxing thing I did all weekend. I wasn’t sweating or huffing and puffing. I was at ease and just enjoying every step I took. I saw things I see everyday from a different point of view and it was beautiful. There weren’t any cars whizzing by or loud construction noises. It was just the sun shining down, a cool breeze making the trees sway, and me in my own state of mind.Hiking

The long hill that I thought was never ending only took about fifteen minutes to hike up. I was actually disappointed and didn’t want it to end, but the view from the top had me speechless and made every step worth the trip. I could see everything up there from the town to mountains and even a lake. It was almost like someone painted a picture of how beautiful the world was. And the best part about it was it seemed like it never ended. I jus took it all in and felt at ease with everything in my life.

If there’s one thing I could take away from this, its two things. One, the best things in life are the ones you have to wait for and work at. The road may seem endless and hard, but in the end it will all be worth it. Second, the view may have been breath-taking, but the fun part was the journey up there. This is exactly what life is all about. It’s not about going from point A to point B. Its about the journey and the experience getting there. You might know where you want to end up in life, but you never know the great mysteries that the joinery has in store for you.

This entry was posted in Fitness, Health, Humor, Inspiration, Motivation, Nature, Summer, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Hiking Isn’t Just for Nature Lovers

  1. I LOVE nature and love to hike, but you are so right life isn’t about the destination but instead the journey and its beautiful isn’t it πŸ™‚

  2. Rohini Raman says:

    Looks like you have already begun to enjoy the journey πŸ˜€

  3. K. Jean King says:

    I also like to hike. And by hike, I usually mean “intend to hike but lose the path in the middle of the woods and spend the rest of the afternoon trying desperately to remember anything I learned in Girl Scouts that might help me get back home.” Good times.

    • Just made me laugh πŸ™‚ I always try to find a clear-cut dirt path or lag behind another group of hikers not to get lost( even though they usually catch on I’m new to the trail). Unfortunately, I have no Scout skills to fall back on, so you’re one step ahead of me.

  4. Hi Joe!

    My hometown is in a valley and our home is on a mountain. I try to jog on a trail every morning but when I do, sunrises just take my breath away. It’s tough, but the scenes that you see while running makes you forget your exhaustion.

    I agree, people would focus on the goal and do away with what they did to accomplish it. To enjoy and learn from life, we should look into the ups and downs that brought us to where we are now.

    Cheers! πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

