Iron Man 3 Review: The Armor Has Been Cracked

Kicking off the summer movie season, Iron Man 3 hit the big screens this weekend with much anticipation. I was more than ready to drown in a tub of popcorn as Tony Stark cracked witty remarks, saved the world, and just reinforced how awesome of a life he has. While  the main characters of Robert Downey Jr. and Gwyneth Paltrow as Pepper Potts stole the show, the movie left me with an empty feeling of wanting more.

I was never really a big fan of Iron Man as superhero growing up. But this all changed ever since I saw the movie. The first two were shot brilliantly and you really saw Tony Stark change as a character. He was no longer this egotistical superstar but someone that people can relate to dealign with emotional stresses like everyone else. Iron Man’s popularity as a superhero exploded even more after The Avengers popped into theaters last year (if you haven’t seen it and love superhero movies, it is a must see). The genius Stark who is very possessive and reclusive, finally breaks his antisocial barrier by working with the Avengers. In the end, he risks his own life for the good of the world. While I loved seeing the  man behind the suit of iron, I think the final movie in the Iron Man series touched on that a little too much.

I know I hate when things are spoiled in the movies (even if its minor jokes), so I won’t do a rundown of everything that happens. I’ll just point of some of the good and bad from the movie. I loved the dialogue between all the characters. I think Robert Downey Jr. is underrated as an actor with his flawless execution of jokes and body language. He has some hilarious one liners that kept the movie rolling along. Ben Kingsley’s role as The Mandarin was brilliant and really brought a good dynamic to the movie. Over all, I thought the dialogue mixed in with the action scenes was a great combination and not overdone.

A few things I didn’t like about the movie was Tony without the suit. I understood the whole concept that this movie was about Stark breaking away from Iron Man for good and being comfortable as himself. However, this is IRON MAN 3! I wanted to see him flying and blasting through bad guys. There was too much fighting scenes and Tony running around like he was character in a FPS game. Maybe it’s just me, but I wanted to see more of Iron Man.

Also, I wasn’t really thrilled by the bad guy at all. I won’t ruin it for anyone, but if you were expecting some monster coming out of the sea or maybe a villain equal to Loki from Thor, don’t hold your breath. I was a little disappointed, but it was still a good plot. Overall, I would recommend you see the final Iron Man. The ending might leave you wanting for more, but its always good to close a book once you started reading it.

This entry was posted in Entertainment and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Iron Man 3 Review: The Armor Has Been Cracked

  1. CMrok93 says:

    It’s a strange angle they decide to take with Stark, but it’s one that works in showing him as a true hero. Good review Joe.

Leave a Reply

