Goal Setting

The past couple of years have a been a wakeup call to reality. Everyone feels like they are entitled to something and that it should come easy. Wouldn’t that be nice, but unfortunately everything has a price. From becoming a superstar to simply getting a Happy Meal at McDonald’s, you need to pay and sacrifice to get it.

As I am slowly starting to realize that I am becoming an adult, more responsibilities and truth about the world are hitting me harder each day. Long gone are the times of having no worries or cares. I need to grip my life and take control of it or I’ll be run down and left in the dust. One thing I have seen common in many successful people are setting goals. And today I set out some goals of mine and I feel like this is the perfect way to put things in perspective.

The best thing to do is to make small goals you can achieve maybe each week or even each day. One could be to make sure you go out for the run every morning or maybe lose five pounds in the next couple of weeks. They should be reasonable and manageable to attain with the right focus. Also, your small goals could be setting stones for your bigger goals. For example, if you lose five pounds every couple of weeks, you could obtain your big goal of becoming in shape.

One of the biggest mistakes I read people make is shooting for a huge goal and expecting it to happen overnight. Big goals are meant to take time and a lot of patience and sacrifice. They are your big goals because they are so hard to achieve. Don’t overshoot because you could set yourself up for failure. Make your big goals something you work towards and really want to achieve. If you put in all your effort and give it everything you got, you will see over time you will be closer to that goal than expected.

As I’m looking at my list of goals, I really hope I do achieve each one of them. Realistically, I may miss a few. But even if they don’t come try, I feel that trying to reach these goals has made me a better person. The journey and experience is what really pays off in the end.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Goal Setting

  1. Monica says:

    Great post! Always feels good to know you’re working towards something. Sometimes big goals make it feel like a daunting task, but when you break it down, it truly does make it better! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

    • Your welcome, I’m glad you enjoyed it. It’s feels like I am slowly getting to my bigger goals because I am accomplishing my smaller ones each day. Thanks for stopping by and commenting 🙂

Leave a Reply

